Home:: Bonanno :: Colombo :: Gambino :: Genovese :: Lucchese :: Resources

The Five Families
of the New York City Mafia


The Five Families of the mafia are the Bonanno, Colombo, Gambino, Genovese, and Lucchese. They were formally organized in the summer of 1931. They originated out of New York City Sicilian Mafia gangs from New York's Lower East side.

Mafia Hierarchy

  1. Boss
  2. Undeboss
  3. Caporegime
  4. Soldiers
  5. Associates
Order in Families

The Five Families are governed by The Commission, which consists of only the bosses of each of the Five Families. Though each family operates independently, all major decisions must be approved by all members of The Commission.